From Point 1 – 10, How Conservative are You?

Hola Blogverse! I was just woke up this morning, and an idea popped up in my head, and I think this idea worth to be written down on my blog. On this blog post, I would like to point out 10 points of what people often mistaken toward women who wear hijab.

Let’s first start with conservative definition. According to Google, conservative means holding to traditional attitudes and values and cautious about change or innovation, typically in relation to politics or religion.

It’s really easy for people to link conservatism towards faith. And here I would like to tell you about 10 points which lots of people mistaken as what we call conservative:

  1. “Women with hijab are not allowed to drive”

Fact: I drive. My sister drive. And lots of other covered women who do drive car, who do ride motorcycle. But if you put Saudi Arabia to conclude that all covered women are not allowed to drive, then you are conservative. Don’t mistaken faith with Arab culture.

  1. “Women with hijab are not allowed to get a decent education”

Fact: My big sister has master degree and her husband has bachelor degree. And they live happily. I know lots of covered women who has doctorate degree. Covered women can easily get education as high as they want, even after they got married. But if you put Afghanistan to conclude that all covered women are not allowed to get a decent education, then you are conservative. Don’t mistaken faith with Afghan situation.

  1. “Women with hijab are not allowed to work”

Fact: My mom works. My big sister works. And lots of other covered women who do work. You can do many things before and after you got married, like get higher education, or work. But if you put the news to conclude that all covered women are not allowed to work, then you are conservative.

  1. “Women with hijab are forced to wear hijab”

Fact: We aren’t forced to wear hijab. I didn’t wear hijab until I was in senior high school grade 10. My parents never ever even once told me to wear hijab. I decided to wear hijab when I was in senior high school grade 10. Then few years later, my big sis also decided to wear hijab. My mom decided to wear hijab when I was in elementary school, it means years later after my mom got married. But if you put Afghanistan to conclude that all covered women are forced to wear hijab (or even niqab), then you are conservative. Don’t mistaken faith with Afghan situation.

  1. “Women with hijab don’t socialize”

Fact: We do socialize. I’m an extrovert, I like to be around people, I like to talk about things to people. And lots of other covered women do socialize. But if you put the news to conclude that all covered women don’t socialize, then you are conservative.

  1. “Women with hijab only make friends with muslims”

Fact: I have lots of atheist friends, and we’re still in touch till now. I respect them and they respect me. We have fun, we enjoy, we cherish our friendship. But if you put the news to conclude that all covered women only make friends with muslims, then you are conservative.

  1. “Women with hijab are homophobic”

Fact: I do have gay friends, and we’re still in touch till now. I respect them and they respect me. We have fun, we enjoy, we cherish our friendship. But if you put the news to conclude that all covered women are homophobic, then you are conservative.

  1. “Women with hijab are not fashionable”

Fact: Lots of designers wear hijab. Sarah Elenany, Dian Pelangi, Hana Tajima Simpson, Frida Deguise, Ria Miranda, Jenahara Nasution, Ghaida Tsurayya, Windri Dhari, Lulu El Hasbu, and lots of other covered women who are designers. But if you put the news to conclude that all covered women are not fashionable, then you are conservative.

  1. “Women with hijab get arranged marriage”

Fact: I have full control of who I want to marry. My big sis marry a man of her own choice. My mom marry a man of her own choice, and lots of other covered women who marry man of their own choice. No, my dad doesn’t have lots of wives, my dad only has one wife which is my mom, and lots of other muslim men who only has one wife. But if you put the news to conclude that all covered women don’t have control of what they want to do in their life, then you are conservative.

  1. “Women with hijab are oppressed”

Fact: How can you say women are oppressed when they have control of what they want to do in their life? We can express ourselves in as many ways as we want to, we can wear whatever we want, we can say whatever we want, we can do whatever we want, we can be whatever we want. But if you put the news to conclude that all covered women are oppressed, then you are conservative.

I like to travel, and that 10 points are what I experienced myself when I encountered and interacted with people from non-muslim countries. I appreciate every little thing in my life. I embrace people’s flaws, I embrace my own flaws, because flaws are what make us special. I appreciate other people’s opinion. Looking at how news can be easily manipulated to accuse or to attack some certain race, some certain faith, creating false public opinion. We live in the era where getting correct fact takes lots of hard work.

It’s not me who’s modern as a muslim. Islam is modern since the beginning, but our humanity is going backward yet people see it as “modern”. People re-define “modern” as something that’s artificial. While to me, modern should be genuine, make humans become better. What’s happening now is our technology going forward yet the humanity is going backward, because if humanity is going forward, there will be no wars, there will be no genocide towards some certain race, towards some certain faith. Modern is not about how many theories, how many laws humans can make to create peace, it’s also about how many actions humans can take to create peace. No peace can be made by wars.

News can be manipulated, faith can’t. Humans can be killed, faith can’t. A country can be destroyed, faith can’t.

Muslim women are covering our head, not our freedom.

IMG_5868

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

