The Art of Loving

Hola Blogverse! It’s been quite a long time since the last time I posted something on my blog. This blog post is inspired by losing people I love. I realized that I wrote quite lots of blog posts about loss. Simply because from a loss, a great loss, comes lots of lessons that I can learn. Whenever I think like the lessons or grieve of one moment is end, I get lots of other lessons coming. Just like a video game, when we finish the battle in one level, we will level up, and have another battle in a whole new level. I realize that as long as we are alive, lessons won’t stop coming.

I used to think that I know what is best for me. I used to think that things have to go as what I planned. I learned things in hard way. By learning things in hard way, the lessons don’t just come and go, it carved in the scar that’s made by what you have done in earning the lesson. The lessons stick with you forever. And when the lessons you got started to fade away, they try to remind you by experiencing the lesson again but in another level.

I used to  think that if I want something, I have to go and get it. That is true. I still do that. The difference is that now I don’t force the result to be as what I want it to be, and that is another way of learning how to let go. Often times, people are confused on when to let go and when to hold on. I get confused too sometimes. But then I realized, whenever we want something, all we can do is to try our best, then let go. We can control of what we can do, but we can’t control the future. We can’t control of things that we have no knowledge about, and that is the future. So whenever I get confused in deciding whether to hold on or to let go, just remember either you’ve tried your best or not. When you’ve tried your best, then  it’s time to let go, and see what will happen. Let the bigger Power, the Power who has the ability to know about the unknown (future) works it out for you.

It also applies in loving someone, or in loving people. None is ever really ours. Not even my dad is mine. Why so possessive? If you do really love people, just do our best and let go. If it meant to be, it will stay anyway. The problem in loving is that we think that someone is ours, we think that we have to be with them all the time, we think that we have to have his/her attention all the time, we think that we have to know everything about him/her, and we are scared to death to lose him/her. Are those wrong? I don’t think so. I think it’s normal because we are all just humans. BUT, there is also time when we need, there is also time when we have to let go. There is time you realize that you are purely love someone by letting them go. People think that if you love something/someone, you got to have that. I learned that the purest form of loving someone is by letting them go. When two people do really love each other, they will trust each other. Trust means you have the ability to let him/her to do his/her stuff and to be the best he/she can be without doubting he/she will betray you. And that is one of the ways of letting go.

All that matters is that we have tried our best. That is what count. Not the result. It’s the process that matters, because love is not a result, love is a process. Love is a process of understanding each other, love is a process of embracing each other, love is a process of supporting each other. In order to be able to let go, we need trust. In order to trust, we need love.

None is ever really ours. Often times all we can do is to appreciate what we have, without stop trying our best.

Love and let go.

2c73d32bfb211da36ec9a9cfe07b5f9b

916e3fa0aba6569a14e29a3fcf4a7c91

Senior Couple

Senior Couple — Image by © Brooke Fasani Auchincloss/Corbis

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Art of Loving

  1. Dani says:

    I wish I could give a like or something, sadly I don’t have any wordpress account.
    Nice saying by the way. Hopefully, it will teach me something. Thank you for showing me this.
    I’m really grateful.

Leave a Reply

